Reaktor setup

If something is not working how you think it should.....
mert
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 3:02 pm

Reaktor setup

Postby mert » Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:54 am

Hi,
Having problem with Reaktor setup
Following instructions from this link http://auug.info/wiki/doku.php/public/b ... r_ensemble
In setup section
3. Within Reaktor Player, check your MIDI input settings at FILE > Audio and MIDI Settings > MIDI > INPUTS (see image below).
a) Make sure the MIDI input from the Motion Synth is “on” (most likely via 'Session 1' that was created in the MIDI Network Setup dialog if you are using a WiFi connection).

I connected through 30 pin connector (iphone 4s). But Reaktor does not show anything in MIDI Input. It has "Microsoft GS Wavetable synth" in output.. But nothing in input tab.

Can you please help me fix this?.. What did I miss?

User avatar
AUUG
Site Admin
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 12:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Reaktor setup

Postby AUUG » Fri Dec 23, 2016 4:19 am

Hi Mert,

Happy to help :)

If you would like to connect wirelessly (via either bluetooth or wifi) this can be done using just the Motion Synth app.

If you wish to connect via iphone cable, a third party app is needed: http://auug.info/wiki/doku.php/midi_over_usb_lightning (both free and paid versions are available).

Let us know your preference (wireless or cabled), and the type of computer you are on (mac or windows), and we can assist you from there.

mert
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 3:02 pm

Re: Reaktor setup

Postby mert » Fri Dec 23, 2016 4:34 am

I tried bluetooth. But still could not get into it.
If possible to connect through wifi I will prefer that to bluetooth
I am using windows 10. , iphone 4s.
Here is more detail from audio midi settings.
Audio tab :
Driver - WSAPI(Shared Mode) -- Only option
Device - Cirrus Logic High Definition Audio -- Only option
Status - Running
Sample Rate - 48000
Latency - 480 Samples
input - 10.0 ms
processing - 10.0 ms
output - 10.0 ms
overall - 30.0 ms
All values are non-editable (other than the driver and device)

Reaktor version is 6.10(R31) - Downloaded and installed today. (Do I need to restart?)

User avatar
AUUG
Site Admin
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 12:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Reaktor setup

Postby AUUG » Fri Dec 23, 2016 6:34 am

Thanks for that detailed info.

Trying to send midi from an iPhone to a windows machine is more challenging, but there are options. See http://auug.info/wiki/doku.php/midi_ove ... ternatives

For a connection via iPhone cable:

http://www.s-r-n.de/midile/windowsfaq.htm (free)

OR

http://musicioapp.com/downloads/

OR

http://midimux.com/

For connection over wifi:

http://www.tobias-erichsen.de/software/rtpmidi.html

Please note that with wifi you will probably want to setup an adhoc network for low latency (direct wifi between your iPhone and laptop).

Please let us know if this info helps or if we can help further :)

mert
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 3:02 pm

Re: Reaktor setup

Postby mert » Sat Dec 24, 2016 9:17 pm

No luck.. All instructions are for iOS and OSx.
I downloaded and installed loopmidi (for virtual driver) and midimittr (on my iphone 4s) and installed driver on my laptop. But the server version has only mac installable.

By looking at the documentation PDF for Reaktor, I installed recommended driver (ASIO) for windows.

Might be I am not doing it right or is windows 10 not supported? Do you have a detailed instruction in pdf format? I still do not find any input midi channels in Reaktor..

User avatar
AUUG
Site Admin
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 12:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Reaktor setup

Postby AUUG » Sun Dec 25, 2016 1:04 pm

Sorry to hear you are having issues with setting up on windows.

Let's focus first on midimittr.

...installed driver on my laptop. But the server version has only mac installable.


You installed the windows server available via this link? http://www.s-r-n.de/midile/setup.exe (see hyperlink titled 'Download v0.9b' at http://www.s-r-n.de/midile/windowsfaq.htm )

mert
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 3:02 pm

Re: Reaktor setup

Postby mert » Fri Dec 30, 2016 4:31 am

Yes. Installed From this link. Tried clicking this link again. It prompted to repair.

I went to the folder where it is installed. and clicked on midile application.
It gave me

Status : Itunes not found
MIDI : Midi driver loaded.

What next? Do I need to download itunes (in windows 10?)

mert
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 3:02 pm

Re: Reaktor setup

Postby mert » Fri Dec 30, 2016 5:09 am

Update: I installed itunes 12.1.3 ..
After connecting iphone via USB cable,
Now I can see "MIDI LE USB" under Reaktor Audio and Midi settings.

I loaded bowed string for Auug motion synthesiser ensemble . Selected factory preset 5 (flute). Selected Glassel violin from right side
In connect menu (on the left), I turned MIDI on. Do I need to set up something else for getting violin sound?

there is no change, if I turned MIDI on or off.

User avatar
AUUG
Site Admin
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 12:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Reaktor setup

Postby AUUG » Fri Dec 30, 2016 6:38 am

Thanks for the update.

The chain of midi signals that you are trying to create is:

Motion Synth App (iPhone) -> midiLE app (iPhone) -> midiLE server (computer) -> Reaktor (computer)

Before looking at Reaktor, lets confirm that the midiLE server on your computer is receiving midi signals from the midiLE app.

If it is not, you may need to configure the midiLE app on your iPhone to ensure it is receiving midi signals from the Motion Synth app.

Does that make sense?

mert
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 3:02 pm

Re: Reaktor setup

Postby mert » Sat Dec 31, 2016 1:28 am

Thank you .
I have Auug and midimittr running on my iphone. I have loopMidi and midimittr running on my windows.

Source in midimittr (iphone) is "auug" and destination is "midle USB Destination"
In windows, when I click on MIDI LE (server application???) it prompts me with

Status : Device connected
MIDI : Midi Driver Loaded


Return to “Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest